Another Period

Add to List

Review

Another Period

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Sundays, 10:00 PM EST on Comedy Central
Tracked 1,542 Times
Concluded
3 Seasons, 32 Episodes
30 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Set at the turn of the century, “Another Period” follows the misadventures of the Bellacourts, Newport, RI’s first family, who have absolutely nothing to offer to the world, but who have so much money it doesn’t matter. The series focuses on sisters “Lillian” (Natasha Leggero) and “Beatrice” (Riki Lindhome), who care only about how they look, what parties they attend and becoming famous, which is a lot harder in 1902.

Show Reviews

by Chuck_Finley

Jun 16, 2016 2:00 PM EDT

This very silly show imagines Downton Abbey with the classy upper classes replaced by blithering idiots. The show is funniest in the way these rich people treat their servants, which is as considerably less than human, as when a servant is whimsically renamed "Chair" by one of her employers. The wealthy are idle and clueless, and the show loves to push the bounds of decency, with characters being horribly racist and crude humor that often cheerfully crosses over the line, as in an episode that mocks rape.

It gets away with this because it knows what it's doing. Underneath the silly, broad comedy, is a fairly sharp satire of class privilege. That combination of cheap jokes and smart comedy is, for me, irresistible.

by TelevisionFanboy

Jan 01, 2016 8:07 PM EST

Another Period is an absurdist comedy about a rich family of buffoons. Such extreme comedy is hit or miss, but this freshman show has really created something that makes people laugh. If it makes you laugh, it's a good comedy and this show definitely makes you laugh.

by DarkClarissa

Apr 04, 2016 1:03 PM EDT

This has some talented actors, but what they're doing in this show I have no idea. It's not funny, the dialogue is tedious and it seems to rely on violent confrontation for it's gags. I won't be watching more. There was one part that was mildly amusing in the first episode. *SPOILER* Where the new maid, Celine, is introduced to the ladies of the house and she is promptly told her name is not suitable for a servant and they shall call her "Chair". The only reason I found this part even vaguely amusing is due to my grandmother being in service at the start of the 20th Century. Her name was Priscilla, it was deemed an unsuitable name for a servant, so she was henceforth called Mary by the family.

by bhelms90

Mar 16, 2016 2:46 PM EDT

Another period is stupidly funny. Sometimes I just can't help but laugh at this absurd family!

by me2011

Sep 19, 2015 1:20 AM EDT

I tuned in not knowing what to expect and it was a good dose of sarcastic humour. I like it and it is definitely worth devoting time to, but I wish I could find a comedy that gave me a laugh like the Dave Chappell Show. Neither this, Key & Peele or Amy Schummer (the best of the bunch I noted here) fill the gaping hole that Dave left. I digress, this is still good and gives at least a couple laughs per episode.

by Speakezee

Jul 04, 2015 10:10 AM EDT

This could turn into one of my favorites, but not everyone loves political comedy as much as I do. The antithesis to Downton Abbey, this new world version of high society filled with despicable people who think only of their pleasures with no compunction to ignoring the servants (who are considered NOT THERE as would a slave) as they go about intimate engagements. FARCE to the max, but charming.

by irishhedgehog

Oct 07, 2016 6:23 AM EDT

When I started watching it I enjoyed it but was sceptical and expecting it to be cancelled soon since crazy shows like that are something I love but seem to be a bit unpopular for the masses. I'm glad this show got its chance since I think its topics have become a lot deeper than when they started out. I love the absurdity of it and like watching it even though it has a pretty vulgar humor to it at times.

by cLoUless

Dec 30, 2015 6:33 PM EST

Simply not my style. The jokes are far from slapstick and seem wooden. But give it a try and decide for yourselves.

by Grace159

Nov 11, 2015 9:08 PM EST

This is just silly, great comedy. Love it

by hannah.hoffmann

Sep 11, 2015 2:13 AM EDT

I think this show is so funny, it makes fun of all major stereotypes from that time period, and the cast is great, and you should watch it. You'll love it. I promise.

by MTromp

Aug 26, 2015 1:49 PM EDT

You either hate it or love it. It is fun or disgusting. No in betweens.

by Vuk Matic

Aug 16, 2015 8:47 AM EDT

Surprisingly funny, albeit idiotic! Made me laugh quite a few times!

by misttherain

Apr 16, 2019 9:11 PM EDT

I liked this series... LOL at times... loved all the players.. writing so very much tongue in cheek and definitely not politically correct... this series is a must watch if you have a funny bone!

by visidereel

Sep 16, 2018 3:26 PM EDT

Half satire that makes excellent points and half crass gross offensive stuff just for the sake of being crass gross offensive. But if you can stomach that, it's a funny show!

by onerefka

Feb 02, 2016 1:50 PM EST

I stopped watching after 2 episodes and it just doesn't happen to me, ever. It was just so bad... I really don't understand why though. Cast is okay, idea is good, generally it has a potential, but something went wrong there. It's like they've tried to make american sitcom with english humor but failed. Gag that could be funny just isn't and I truly can't figure out where the problem is. But there is one for sure.

by Kafferoni

Aug 14, 2015 11:37 PM EDT

This show had the potential to be funny, but completely missed the mark!It is just crude and off putting!

by Lithium

Jul 31, 2015 1:55 PM EDT

What the hell is this? So weird!

by anonymousfrog00

Jul 25, 2015 7:40 AM EDT

funny show based in the olden days. great costumes and dialog.

by tommyboy69

Jul 07, 2015 12:41 PM EDT

This show is SO crazy!!!! Very different and really a good time.

by Zoe-Jo Goodwin

Jul 06, 2015 2:33 PM EDT

I could not continue to watch this show after 10 mins of the first episode. I just didn't find it funny.