Black Lightning

Add to List

Review

Black Lightning

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Mondays, 9:00 PM EST on The CW
Tracked 8,371 Times
Hiatus
3 Seasons, 45 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Based on the DC character created by Tony Isabella with Trevor Von Eeden, Black Lightning centers on Jefferson Pierce. He made his choice: He hung up the suit and his secret identity years ago, but with a daughter, Jennifer hellbent on justice and a star student being recruited by a local gang, he’ll be pulled back into the fight as the wanted vigilante and DC legend Black Lightning. Cress Williams, Nefessa Williams, China Anne McClain and Christine Adams star.

Show Reviews

by kaidenlaw

Jan 17, 2018 8:56 PM EST

Even though they stole my porn name, I'll still watch it.

by me2011

Oct 07, 2019 11:49 PM EDT

I watch every, and I mean every superhero show. Even if it is mediocre (like this was in season 1) I still hang on for dear life hoping it will get better and fortunately, this did get much better in season 2. Now here I am in the first episode of season 3 and I found myself wondering if they have gone back to mediocrity. Fingers crossed.

by flyfisher110

Feb 23, 2018 5:37 AM EST

Poor acting especially by black lighting and the wife, poor scripts. If they retired those two to Florida and rewrote the show for the daughter as the super hero it might be better. At least it seems like she can act a bet better.

by Melissa-LeeM

Apr 14, 2020 6:48 PM EDT

What on earth can you say about this? It seems to be written to create a huge divide for no reason.

by Andrew Choe

Feb 11, 2020 12:55 PM EST

Not a bad show, but super excited to see where the show goes now that it part of the Arrow-verse

by HijjeeyK

Dec 17, 2019 2:32 PM EST

so refreshing and nice to see actors that you may not have been introduced to before. My favourite character is Tobias (Yes i know,I know!)

by chikayeye23

Aug 30, 2019 3:28 PM EDT

This is the black superhero they didn't make out of Luke Cage. I love Black Lighting, his whole family is badass, and the soundtrack is sweet as hell!

by Phyliss Henry

Jul 02, 2019 5:47 PM EDT

this is about a school principal with a family who teaches morals and values to all the kids by day. By night fights to keep the small community safe from those who would destroy it.

by Rashid Alzayani

Jun 29, 2019 3:32 PM EDT

i enjoy this show

by vronmo

May 01, 2019 11:48 AM EDT

I guess this is more for the most avid comic fans rather than the average watcher. Not a show for me even though I made myself watch it every episode.

by LeeJ5

Apr 22, 2019 9:29 AM EDT

Amazing show, a must watch for any DC fan.
is slow at times but is all worth the wait.

by javineya

Oct 21, 2018 6:31 AM EDT

Season 1: I have to admit, this started off rough. I didn't like the show at all at first. Too preachy, too heavy-handed with its themes. I agree that there's not enough good black-focused TV in the mainstream, but that doesn't mean that viewers are too stupid to understand it and need everything spoon-fed to them.

The dialogue was hammy, the acting was wooden, the action was corny. I'm really not sure why I stuck with it other than it's availability. But I'm glad I did. So what changed? When the show begins to focus more on the daughters and less on the parents, it also stopped treating its black characters like objects to push a message and started treating them like subjects with depth and emotion. A necessary change, and one that hooked me.

Season 2: A solid start. Dialogue and focus continue from the better half of Season 1: They're still spending a lot of time with the daughters, and it's great for them to be looking at the mental and emotional toll of being superheroes. The biggest boost so far in season 2 comes from better, more detailed action scenes. The daughters are riveting, and tensions and struggles are hard-hitting. This is quickly becoming a show I have to watch the moment it releases.

by Princesse_Sierra

Aug 11, 2018 9:06 PM EDT

MILD SPOILERS

I'm glad this show was renewed, because I had a bad feeling about it. Black Lightning is a solid and dependable show. Superheroes with families are not all that common, and a superhero family is a whole other thing.
Sadly, I also found the show to be slow, and a little boring at times. Hopefully, they will have found their sea legs by season 2

by Janette Johnston Savage

May 15, 2018 11:18 AM EDT

Another Marvel series and its amazing

by irenero27

Apr 24, 2018 7:30 PM EDT

I really wanted to like this show...but just couldn't. Characters are one-dimensional, story not all that compelling and there are way too many cliches. Forced myself through to ep 8 and thought it was finally going to get better, but no.....it reverted back to the same old cliches. I struggled to get through the last few eps. Disappointing.

by dinaofdoom

Apr 06, 2018 2:44 AM EDT

A black super hero family? Yes, please!

by smilesfromheart

Mar 24, 2018 1:38 PM EDT

S1: I will continue to watch because I like super hero shows. But among the marvel ones, this is my least favorite. Don't have a reason, other than sick and tired of drug lords and the sound track is annoying if it counts.

by Daniel Goldi Goldberg

Feb 16, 2018 5:14 AM EST

loved it! so cool!

by Danny J Stanton

Feb 15, 2018 5:21 PM EST

This show is getting worse by the minute
after 4 episodes, i have given up.
worse Super hero show ever made
poor script
poor acting
and the fight scenes are lame

by Alyssa Norville

Feb 09, 2018 6:21 AM EST

I cannot imagine a more perfect cast for this show. While it is definitely high tech (thinking Kingsman crossed with Batman but with less of a budget) it sticks to its roots with the location, the plot, and the Nikes he wears when he's kicking ass and taking names. Four episodes in, and it's proving to be a well thought out, well executed series that I hope to see more of.
Oh, and the superheroes are gorgeous and BLACK!