Finding Carter

Add to List

Review

Finding Carter

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Tuesdays, 10:00 PM EST on MTV
Tracked 9,777 Times
Concluded
2 Seasons, 36 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Written by Bones' Emily Silver, the series is about a teenage girl named Carter (Kathryn Prescott) who learns that her fun-loving single mom Lori (Milena Govich) abducted her as a toddler, and must now return to her birth family. As she attempts to adjust to her new life with her parents and twin sister, she vows to reconnect with Lori.

Show Reviews

by DarkClarissa

Nov 24, 2014 3:38 AM EST

I watched the first couple of episodes but had to stop. The whole premise that a kidnapped child after so many years would be dumped back with her biological family with only a bog-standard family therapist helping the whole family is flawed and insulting to the viewers' intelligence.

That "Carter" is an angst filled, rebellious teen is just what many teens go through and the writing of her character flaws and psychological problems didn't feel real. The layers of issues that she would be facing would be greater, more intense, and the help that she would require would be daily hands on support.

by Rosanna Bowman Dillawar

Jan 04, 2015 5:31 PM EST

This show has its share of strengths and weaknesses, but overall I would say that it's an interesting show to watch. There are many underlying storylines that can be explored in the next season to relieve some suspense, e.g., who assaulted Bird... what is David's connection to Lori... what will happen to Max and Taylor... etc.

I'm not fond of Carter's erratic traits possibly because I cannot relate to her, but I feel like she needs to sort her issues out and make some definite decisions on what she wants! Alot of the actions of the characters and storylines are also questionable and unrealistic in my opinion so I hope that these will be improved in the second season.

by elfspider

Feb 04, 2016 6:21 AM EST

Finding Carter follows the story of a girl whose life gets flipped upside down, after a night out with her friends. It features aspects such as drama, romance, action and even a little bit of mystery.

by me2011

Apr 04, 2015 1:50 AM EDT

The mother's (Cynthia Watros) plastic surgery is horribly distracting. Every scene she is in I find myself just staring and wondering why anyone would be so afraid to age that they would do that to their face.
Besides that, this show is surprisingly good for an MTV show.

by zparpa

Nov 19, 2014 7:35 AM EST

Love this show, feels realistic which is refreshing.

by dassiearwen

Oct 20, 2014 8:04 AM EDT

Great show. Very interesting plot and the decisions made in the show feel realistic in the situation they are in. Can't wait to see where this goes.

by teenagewildlife

Aug 05, 2014 10:33 PM EDT

Finding Carter is a great new show with a lot of potential to be even better than it already is. Many shows have issues in their infancy, but the writing in this show is pretty strong. The characters are intriguing (though I would like to know some more backstory to characters other than Carter, particularly her family members like Taylor and how she dealt with the kidnapping), the storyline has a chance to become something really amazing, and the show is just overall a good watch.

by ginjar420

Jul 14, 2015 1:44 AM EDT

So far, nearly done with season one (I would be done if I had internet at my place!) and I LOVE IT. Oh my god was I hooked! I ate it up a few days in a row! Some things annoy me but I really, really FEEL with the characters! I get scared, excited, embarrassed for them. And it is SUCH a different, unique idea!

Now why is it on a Hiatus?!?!?! You better get your #$ together! lol

by Nick Moore

Apr 29, 2015 6:11 AM EDT

Now on first look this is a show for teens but somehow it has a fantastic hook built into the story lines which keeps you wanting more. WORTH a look.
UPDATE: Now on season 2 I just cannot give it the time - so just ticking it off - atleast for now.

by Alejandra Sequera S.

Apr 22, 2015 10:42 AM EDT

This is a very good show on MTV! we explore the stoy of a kidnapped girl and her return to her family and all the secrets that come with it.

by nicolemk22

Dec 26, 2014 4:37 PM EST

Finding Carter started out strong...but kind of faltered as the season went on. I love the premise. It's extremely original, and has so much potential, but I found the execution to be on the poorer side.

The characters don't feel real. The way Carter speaks -- nobody speaks like that...it feels so forced and calculated. Her character in general -- the angsty, popular, teen has been done so many times, and her version of the character doesn't have any nuance to make it interesting.

I'm not going to throw in the towel quite yet. There are shows that have made it back from poor plot decisions and flat character-personalities buttttt...the writers and actors are really going to have to step things up a notch in order for Finding Carter to reach its full potential come season 2. Crossing my fingers, and hoping for the best!

by OWE0003

Mar 24, 2019 3:11 AM EDT

I dint know how to watch it

by MGlidden

Mar 14, 2019 1:36 PM EDT

First season and a half I loved. Second half of the second season was almost redeemed by the ending, but not quite. Overall, struggled to finish but glad I did

by viks120

Dec 09, 2018 8:17 AM EST

starts off with an amazing premise. keeps it going for a while, but then it turns into a teen drama....not really for me 1st season is worth watching once though.

by SuzetteS

Feb 04, 2018 2:24 PM EST

Lots of twists and turns.

by Janette Johnston Savage

Nov 20, 2017 12:35 PM EST

Love this show and doesn't get boring

by Jane Tuke

Jun 30, 2017 12:35 PM EDT

Finding Carter follows a teenage girl named Carter Stevens who after a run in with the police learns that she isn't named Carter at all, her name is Lyndon Wilson and she was abducted as a toddler. Returning to her biological family who initially she can find no connection with, Carter can't help but want to return to her "Mother Lori, the woman who brought her up but also the woman who abducted her.
Both seasons of this were brilliant, I was rather gutted that it was cancelled as I felt it had a lot more story to tell!

by Sarah_G

Jan 25, 2017 7:27 AM EST

I really wish Carter and Callie Jacobs (The Fosters) could meet because they're both the same kind of well meaning fuckups, it's unbelievable. Still, it had potential and I wish it got a better ending.

by true-blood

Dec 20, 2016 2:19 AM EST

The show had a nice start but the plot get boring after a while.

by roxannebrown

Mar 23, 2016 12:40 AM EDT

It started out really good with the kidnapped daughter story line but not long after it became just another teen soap opera.