Fresh Off The Boat

Add to List

Review

Fresh Off The Boat

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Sundays, 8:30 PM EST on ABC
Tracked 12,797 Times
Concluded
6 Seasons, 116 Episodes
30 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
It’s the 90s and 11 year old, hip-hop loving Eddie (Hudson Yang) just moved to suburban Orlando from DC’s Chinatown with his parents (Randall Park and Constance Wu). It’s culture shock for his immigrant family in this comedy about pursuing the American Dream. “Fresh Off the Boat” is based on Chef Eddie Huang’s memoir Fresh Off the Boat.

Show Reviews

by FrozenField

Mar 08, 2015 10:34 PM EDT

I'm still amazed it took 2 decades to get another Asian American comedy on American TV. And it has an awesome grandma adding fun one liners throughout the show. And this time they cast someone old enough to be a grandmother.

The good news: no laugh track, cast is great (Emmy nomination for Constance Wu, please), they are likeable and, though they face unique challenges, much of the stories are universal.

The bad news: it's based on the memoirs of misogynist Eddie Huang. The main character is annoying because of this and his antics detract from the show overall. There are also some tired cliches in this show though I imagine it is difficult to get a show on network TV without them.

by baller88

Feb 10, 2015 10:32 AM EST

FOTB is the Asian-American 'Everybody Hates Chris' that AAs will ironically relate to and non-As will enjoy from a unique perspective never seen before on mainstream TV. The excellent cast along with the legendary Eddie Huang as writer & narrator makes it the overdue answer that addresses a large market demand.

by Chuck_Finley

Jan 13, 2016 7:30 AM EST

Hilarious sitcom about an Asian-American family living in 1990's America, mixing good comedy with 90s nostalgia. Love this show!

by irishhedgehog

Feb 20, 2015 7:42 AM EST

A refreshingly different and charming show about family life and its struggles with a really cool soundtrack. The childrens' attitudes and lines are hilarious. Actually every single family member is really funny in their own way.. The cast is perfect for it and the writing is very entertaining. I also love that there's a narrator involved.

by andrew.bremner

Jun 21, 2015 4:38 AM EDT

Got hitched from the first episode . Great and fun to watch . It's a healthy mix between The Middle and The Goldbergs -----Love this show 10 thumbs up

by georgiaraepink

Aug 19, 2018 10:54 PM EDT

My new favourite show!!!! I love every character, I literally can't think of who I like the most!! So good and so refreshing to watch!

by ColleenS6

Mar 11, 2017 2:25 PM EST

I absolutely love this show ! So funny

by andrea0912

Mar 05, 2016 12:03 PM EST

This show is a big deal, being the first Sitcom featuring an Asian-American family. The show is based on Eddie Huang's biography. Huang’s book, entitled Fresh Off the Boat narrates his experience as a Taiwanese immigrant growing up in white America. Bullied by his peers at school and harmed physically and psychologically by his abusive parents at home, Huang flirted with rebellion, violence, and crime throughout his adolescence and early adulthood, connecting strongly with hip-hop and African-American culture. That being said, all the unpleasant details that made Huang’s memoir have been erased from the show to make it more likeable for American audiences. Huang said: "The network won't take that gamble right now. ... The only way they could even mention some of the stories in the book was by building a Trojan horse and feeding the pathogenic stereotypes that still define us to a lot of American cyclope. ... People watching these channels have never seen us, and the network's approach to pacifying them is to say we're all the same." No show is perfect, I know that maybe they shouldn't have deleted all of the unpleasant moments, maybe then it would be more real. But come on' is a comedy and I like it a lot. I hope that it stays for a while.

by Industrialcontortion

Aug 27, 2015 8:55 AM EDT

Probably the funniest new show I've started this year. Will be watching more for sure!

by oshiekins

Apr 21, 2015 11:26 PM EDT

Constance Wu as overbearing Jessica Huang is the bomb! Typical Asian American mom! She steals it!

by Wallabla

Apr 03, 2015 8:46 AM EDT

Funny, great if you know Eddy Wong and I love all the HipHop refrences

by dassiearwen

Mar 21, 2015 6:42 AM EDT

Man was I wrong when I first heard about this show. I thought it would be terrible, but it is very funny and sweet at times. Cool characters with a lot of heart and I will keep watching it for what I hope are many seasons to come.

by tvman26

Mar 11, 2015 2:54 PM EDT

Such a funny show!!!Hope it get renewed!!!Love the parents!!!

by Rosanna Bowman Dillawar

Feb 22, 2015 6:20 PM EST

This is like one of those comedies that isn't that great, but you still watch it because it keeps you entertained! I really like this show, the crazy Asian family drama and comedy that the cast serves up.

It's also interesting for the show to be focused on a different cultural dynamic which adds a fresh perspective from typical American comedies.

by Unknownfear

Feb 22, 2015 2:58 PM EST

Aptly named, "Fresh Off the Boat" is an extremely 'fresh' comedy. While it does to some degree follow the standard situational household family-arisen humor, it does so with an Asian family in Florida, fighting stereotypes, while also playing into them. It's smart, sarcastic, and very funny. It's also a quick and great binge watch. Highly recommended.

by bruhannuh

Feb 11, 2015 7:10 PM EST

this show is sooo hilarious

by lascura

Feb 07, 2015 6:53 PM EST

didn't like it... barely got through the first episode .. will not subject myself to another .. low level comedy .. might have found it funny if I was 12 years old .. big thumbs down for me.

by a.nwns

Apr 02, 2020 4:29 PM EDT

Fresh off the Boat is a great addition to the North American television world. I watch this show with my husband who is Chinese and was born in Asia, which makes this show just a little bit funnier. I recommend this show to a lot of people because of it's family friendly laughs and it's refreshing having different cultures depicted in American television.

by flyfisher110

Jul 22, 2018 1:40 PM EDT

Great show, Asian American family own's western style restaurant couldn't be anything but funny, and it is. Great cast & writing. Love Jessica's attitude, and the rest of the family almost seem like they have it together. lol

by Andrew Choe

Feb 08, 2017 12:53 AM EST

love how asian american stories can be told through tv