Lost in Space

Add to List

Review

Lost in Space

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Fridays, 3:00 AM EST on Netflix
Tracked 6,018 Times
Hiatus
2 Seasons, 20 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
A revival of the cult classic series, this epic but grounded science-fiction saga focuses on a young explorer family from Earth lost in an alien universe and the challenges they face in staying together against seemingly insurmountable odds.

Show Reviews

by Lolli123456

Apr 14, 2018 9:35 PM EDT

LOST IN STAR WARS

The first episode is bad but it gets slightly better as the series progresses. The pseudo-science is rife. Like a sci-fi show written by English majors who don't like Sci-fi and looked up random science facts in an old Encyclopidia Britanica and then mis-interpreted them into a story plot while drinking copious cheap whiskey and eating Oreo cookies.

The several perplexing plot points slowly unfold with each episode, but its one of those weak plots where the writer creates illogical situations simply so other chaaracters can react in illogical ways so they aren't sitting around doing nothing. Like I've mentioned elsewhere, the original show wasn't good, it was just unique at the time and had females. Its melodrama. A soap opera. Its cheesy sci-fi. I'm much more of a hard sci-fi fan. There simply is no reason not to get the science right and still have a creative well written plot.

They obviously spent some serious money on this, too bad they didn't hire better writers. It could have been much better. The casting is bad in general. The star wars rip offs replete.

Will: Not a super genius in this version, kind of a dullard, Luke Skywalker (controls the robot weapon)
Mr R: Hardly the go getter that the character was in the old show and movie, more of a lone wolf, Obi Wan
Don West: Not a Major in military in this version, a criminal smuggler, Han Solo
Dr. Smith: Not a doctor in this version, Darth Vader (both helps and hurts the hero equally, Darth causes the death star to be blown up by releasing the plans to track the rebels, if you recall - called the Contagonist in Dramatica story theory, you can see Dr. Smith helping at times and hurting people at other times.)
There is no obvious Princess Leia, probably going to be Judy.
There is no obvious Chubaca, betting a lovable animal comes into the fold by the end of the season.

I'm going to watch the rest of the season, if for no other reason than to find out if Mrs. Robinson had an affair with a black man. Maybe the leader of the expidition. Inquiring minds want to know.

The Bad:

- You can crash land from space without so much as a case of whiplash.
- The only injury is caused by a large metal filing cabinet that for no reason is not bolted to the ship.
- Your ship can suddenly sink into the ice which inexplicably suddenly melts.
- But then the water refreezes in seconds as if on cue.
- Ice on top of a mountain has salinity, ie salt (the stupidest thing so far).
- If you are a scientist, you can crash land on an unknown planet and somehow know without any evidence that the tempurture will drop to 60 below.
- It can rain liquid water but its still so cold out that the same water refreezes nearly instantly on the ground.
- I in no way think the man playing the role of the father is fatherly. He's just wrong for the part. Bad casting.
- A dense lush forest just happens to abutt a super cold glacer. An arid desert is also nearby.
- Weird wormhole blackhole-like sparkly objects can suddenly pop up in space when you need to be lost for no other reason than its in the name of the show.
- In show Oreo commercials, several, they hold up the box to the camera like an advert and talk about them for about 30 seconds total.
- I'm pro females in shows. And I like Parker Posey "Starbucking" the Dr. Smith role. But the writing is soo juvinile. And why a fake Dr. Smith (can women not be Doctors)?? Why wouldn't she just have stayed with the guy who helped recue her, there was no reason to think a truck would be rolling by and see the flare, she would have died in the storm. And wow, her sister was dating the security guy and he didn't instantly notice it wasn't her?? [If the Earth was going to be hit by an extinction level event, and there was a lifeboat taking the chosen rich away to the new world (sickening christian allegory), there would be riots to get aboard. Security would have caught an imposter even with the correct chip. Even the inept TSA would have stopped her.]
- The robot doesn't speak AT ALL, except to inexplicably say "Danger, Will Robinson, Danger!" moments after hearing 3 words of English. Horrible writing. Ruined an iconic aspect of the show.
- An alleged astrophysicist says: "we are trillions and trillions of light years away" - except the universe is only 156 billion light years wide.
- They completely ruined the theme song. I love the old theme song. It was catchy and fun. They butcher it with star-wars-esque brass bellowing like sick cows.
- The Jupiter 2 ship purely coinidentally looks like the Millenium Falcon.
- Its purely coincidental that the ship flies out of the ice cave as if it was the asteroid worm from Star Wars IV or the caves in Star Wars VII.

Good things:

- Scenery is cool even if illogical climate zones exist side by side
- There are many Jupiter spacecraft, which opens up a lot more possibilities for other survivors to add to the story (I could see a 'The 100'-like plot falling out of this set up fairly easily).

by Shivoncarla

Oct 06, 2019 7:07 PM EDT

LOST IN SPACE - SEASON ONE

An attempt to resurrect camp - without the camp. The resulting show has lost all of its fun quirkiness but doesn't offer viewers a new reason to watch instead.

For a show with such a large assortment of bright spots, its dimmer parts become all the more irritating.

by BartJr

Jan 21, 2019 2:06 AM EST

Very good, I can not wait to start the second season. My mother watched as a child and she loved this remake.
Great.

by lizahoogstraten

Feb 04, 2020 11:14 AM EST

Loved the first season. The second season got a bit weirder

by ayeletsh

Jan 26, 2020 10:52 AM EST

By lack of a better word, OMG !!!!

by vrtxf

Dec 29, 2019 4:13 AM EST

season 2 is a huge improvement - still has some quirks but definitely a 4+/5

by javineya

Dec 28, 2019 7:42 AM EST

While this feels like a lower rating than this show deserves, every time I think about it I come to the same conclusion: It's suspenseful, thrilling, visually-stunning, and heart-warming, but it's filled to the brim with hokey plot-contrivances, occasionally-bad dialogue, the WORST character in recent memory, and way too much adoration for the Robinsons.

I like this family and I'm rooting for them every step of the way, but the show needs to take a step back and stop treating them like living legends, capable of feats the other highly-competent and qualified members of the space crew aren't. It's a little distracting just how much this show is like, "Without the Robinsons, NOTHING is possible!"

And Dr. Smith...needs to go. I don't care how, just get her out of this show. Her character is the most poorly-written, thinnest creation I can think of to date. She's manipulative, but her manipulation strategy is about as easy to see through as the glass on the spaceship. It wouldn't even work on children in the sandbox, let alone highly-educated and well-adjusted adults--the kind that would pass a rigorous test in order to colonize a planet. You know, the best humanity has to offer...it's just incomprehensible that Dr. Smith is able to con anyone. Even the kids are superstars! She's probably the sole reason I gave this show 3 stars, honestly. Whatever decision the showrunners made for Dr. Smith, it was the wrong one.

Be prepared for non-stop plot contrivances. Every time "the worst" can happen, it will. Whether it makes sense or not. "Don't go outside the fence?" means that you will be forced to go outside the fence in less than 5 minutes. They don't even bother trying to pretend like it isn't going to happen. "If X happens, it will be bad." and then cue X. I don't hate it because it's clearly the show's main gimmick, and it does keep things moving. It would be nice to see just a bit more cleverness in the script, though. It would elevate the show a lot to have better writing.

And it would elevate the show twice as much if Dr. Smith just disappeared from it entirely.

by Jamie Reynolds

Dec 27, 2019 4:39 PM EST

Ok, so the first season was great. Fantastic dialog and story with wonderful graphics and robot action. Someone hit the self destruct button on season 2 with the worst possible start to the new series. No robot or Will action for over half the season WTF. Clearly little money was spent on this defeat from the jaws of victory. With a rock-solid TV show they decided to make an episode of neighbors or Eastenders as opposed to a fantastic tale of space adventure. I rate this season one 4 and a half stars and season 2 half a star and that's being kind.

by Locteau

Jan 16, 2019 5:28 PM EST

Absolutely love that series. Remind me of good quality acting and plot with good but simple special effect. Nitiver done. Nothing too intense or extreme and a lot of relationship work between characters. Cant wait to see more.

by Sabina Galant

Oct 27, 2018 5:00 AM EDT

Pretty good one, slightly childish but worth the watch. The technical ideas are pretty amazing. The imagination world created is very nice.

by goldenlightt

Oct 25, 2018 7:37 PM EDT

I wouldn't recommend this. It drags on pointlessly and 10 episodes feel more like 20. Also the sets were surprisingly bad.

by steelsheen

Aug 06, 2018 8:03 AM EDT

Pretty OK update of the classic 50's show. Decent enough entertainment for a rainy weekend catch up.

by flyfisher110

Jul 21, 2018 11:07 AM EDT

I think the show is O.K not great. The acting is good, worth watching if you got some time. To me it is better then the original series.

by Liltee

Jul 10, 2018 1:55 PM EDT

I'm not into space shows and this was very good. Better then expected

by

Jul 07, 2018 3:07 PM EDT

In the first episode, a space station is falling apart and everyone on it is about to die. Two people are just standing around watching everyone else get to the escape pods. They are not trying to escape at all. They are standing there saying, "Well we just fixed this escape pod so someone else can use it!"

Someone opens the escape pod and gets in then says, "Well you guys can get in too."

This show is just TOOOOOOO STUPIDDDDDDDDDD!!!!!!!!!!!

by Carl Malone

May 11, 2018 1:46 AM EDT

I will agree that this show tends to drag on in places and can have a feeling of having to much filler, but all in all I find this show to be a fun adaptation of the original series and a thrilling space adventure.

by moahdeeb777

Apr 29, 2018 3:36 PM EDT

This is a "MUST WATCH" if you liked the original series you will love this New Re-imagined series. Very well made beautiful cinema photography and the acting is really good, "top notched", sometimes a little cheesy but that's to be expected, that's part of the show like an invisible character. Just give it a chance and watch each episode, the episodes get better and better and better.........etc. You no what I mean!!!

by Rock9975

Apr 28, 2018 5:37 PM EDT

Absolutely fantastic. Great acting, story, etc. A must watch for anyone.

by Janette Johnston Savage

Apr 24, 2018 4:18 AM EDT

Saw this advertised on Netflix and social media so thought Id try it. Only first season so far but ok to watch but not great

by Chronophan

Apr 22, 2018 11:47 PM EDT

This is worth watching. The original was poor in retrospect but stood out in its time because while neither it or Star Trek had anything comparable in the 60s. In this century when there are many highly sophisticated science fiction and fantasy productions this version of Lost in Space once again stands out. Its flaws may come from being a version of the Lost in Space story so adheres to some of the same types of roles. While the roles in the first version were very one dimensional, this version provide more depth to some its characters. Despite my discomfort with the redundant adversity of some of the cliff hanger situations coupled with excessive villainy, I really hope that this show is renewed for another season. This version has potential.