Ozark

Add to List

Review

Ozark

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Fridays, 3:00 AM EST on Netflix
Tracked 8,710 Times
Hiatus
3 Seasons, 30 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
A Chicago-based financial advisor secretly relocates his family to the Missouri Ozarks when his dealings with a drug cartel go awry.

Show Reviews

by TelevisionFanboy

Jul 25, 2017 4:14 AM EDT

An intelligent and darkly wonderful show that Jason Bateman shines in. What more could you want?

by BellBlaq

Jul 22, 2017 6:34 PM EDT

I've been waiting for this since I read the pilot in 2016. That said, it's always a bummer when a much-anticipated show disappoints. What went wrong here? Thin characters and an irredeemably contrived plot.

OZARK presents characters that are merely shallow representations of boring people. The show doesn't give us anyone to care about other than the innocent kids. The protag, Marty, is supposed to be a good guy driven by necessity to do bad things. But really, he’s not. Marty’s a bad guy (he’s been laundering money for over 15 years—this isn’t a new development) who chooses to continue doing bad things. (In a poorly-executed parallel) Walter White began making drugs for his family’s financial survival upon his impending death. That’s understandable, relatable even. On the other hand, Marty’s entire predicament is merely the consequence of the bad things he’s already been doing for years. Marty wasn't ashamed of what he'd done. He didn't regret it morally. He willfully laundered money because he wanted to be a multimillionaire upon retirement (another 20 years from now). There’s not much for the audience to get emotionally attached to from that considering he’s a “finance guy,” which implies that he could have still become a millionaire through honest investing (ya know, the same way 99% of investors do it)… he just didn’t wanna? I could get into the wife and the local antagonists, but why bother when the main character is lackluster enough for them all? At least he’s played by Jason Bateman, which makes him almost watchable.

And then there’s the plot, which is contrived, repetitive and predictable. Marty owes a drug lord (Del) $8M. He promises to return the drug lord’s money within 3 months by moving his money laundering scheme from Chicago to rural Missouri (a twist that only would’ve worked if the location change had been demanded by Del). The drug lord knows this is a feeble stalling tactic, but he allows it anyway in order for us to have a TV show. Marty must then overcome a series of rote obstacles in his pursuit of this repayment “plan.” And those obstacles are exactly what you’d expect: theft (securing $8M in cash is hard!), unwillingness (not everyone wants to be criminals!), and rivals (rural MO already has drug lords and money launderers!).

Seriously, the job of a writer is to present a story in a way that the average audience member couldn’t have conceived. Unfortunately, the writers here completely fail at that, creating little more than a BREAKING BAD rip off that is woefully dull.

by Sallie Hardy

Jul 25, 2017 12:13 PM EDT

Excellent well made great plot gritty and gory in parts a thrill ride. Acting is some of the best I have seen in along time....Netflix please don't cancel this show looking forward to a Season 2.

by hjbau

Jul 21, 2017 1:21 PM EDT

The first twenty minutes of the first episode of this show are so bad, that if no one watches this show and it gets cancelled just because of that, it deserves it. But, if you make it past those first twenty minutes then the mobster, drug cartel stuff gets really intense, really quickly and the show becomes much more interesting after that. I am still early on in the season, but so far i am liking it.

by Marta Ramon Xiville

Feb 28, 2018 10:22 AM EST

I thougt I wouldn,t like this show but I love ii,great and stroung caracters. I like Wendy, Rut , the kids....... And Jason betaman at the begining I was like NOOOOOOOOOOOO this caracter is not for him, but he really nails it!!!!!! he does a very good job as Martin!!!

by Melissa-LeeM

Dec 29, 2017 1:38 AM EST

This is a good show, even if it does move a little slow. I does surprise me though how one little town can have so many criminals in it.

by Jocelyn Chapman

Sep 07, 2017 4:45 PM EDT

It's really just okay. If you're looking for a taste of something a little different that you can watch casually, it will meet that but won't be spectacular.

by Ivsteal

Jul 29, 2017 3:00 AM EDT

Great actors, fresh storyline, dark humor, intense and light hearted drama, plus filmed against a stunning backdrop. It pretty much has it all.

by ItzHavok

Jul 26, 2017 9:27 PM EDT

Ozark is a crime drama about a man who is ready for everything financially; except for what happens next... Forced to give away his hard earned money to spare his life and the life of his family, he must launder money for a crime family in literally the middle of nowhere... Ozark. The cast is great, the writing is witty and the story is very distinguished, it keeps you thinking and on your toes. I recommend this to the drama fanatic.

by claytinu2500

Jul 26, 2017 6:18 PM EDT

I wanted to love this show, but I failed to do so. I'm not going to comment on the fact that it's hard to accept Bateman in this role as he's usually in comedies - he's an actor and a very good one; he is good in anything he does. However, I did not like the way the plotline was stretched to its max; it felt so slow, especially from episode 2 till 5. In conclusion, this show was a good idea: for a movie and not for a whole show!

by Alejandra Sequera S.

Apr 29, 2020 12:36 PM EDT

A think this show truly has a bit of everything, drama, comedy, thriller, it goes back and forth, good and bad , and all the grey areas in between. How could you handle working for a drug cartel, being a good parent, and handling your own individual ambitions.

by Ayelet Tamir

Apr 17, 2020 8:08 AM EDT

second best after Breaking Bad!!

by diana9993

Apr 01, 2020 9:14 AM EDT

ONE OF THE BEST TV SHOWS TO WATCH
JASON BATEMAN IS LITERALLY AN ABSOLUTE GENIUS
AND THE WHOLE SERIES AND THE ACTORS ARE ALL UNDERRATED

by vrtxf

Mar 30, 2020 8:47 PM EDT

season 3 update: best show on television 2020 so far.

by kittrells

Mar 27, 2020 9:42 PM EDT

Depressing, but pretty well done.

by chikayeye23

Jan 03, 2020 7:56 PM EST

Why do some people keep thinking that working with narcos is easy? Lol
I mean, these stories make a great plot, but being from Mexico, it touches a nerve ya'know?

by Rashid Alzayani

Jan 22, 2019 5:09 AM EST

must watch

by jamieshaddox

Dec 15, 2018 12:23 PM EST

Love it, did a veg out in front of TV until I finished ALL the episodes

by Mohammed87

Nov 22, 2018 7:09 PM EST

It was a slow show, when something was happening, it concluded quick. Nothing interesting. On 5th episode and I feel like watching mamma Mia 2 to forget this show.

by Anttan076

Oct 30, 2018 2:16 AM EDT

Great Show! Love It!