Playing House

Add to List

Review

Playing House

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Tuesdays, 10:00 PM EST on USA Network
Tracked 2,688 Times
Concluded
3 Seasons, 26 Episodes
30 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Playing House follows Maggie (Parham), a mom-to-be going through a divorce, and her childhood best friend, Emma (St. Clair), who abandons her blossoming business career in China to come home and help Maggie raise the baby. The Office's Zach Woods and Key & Peele's Keegan Michael Key also star.

Show Reviews

by TelevisionFanboy

Jan 14, 2016 4:01 PM EST

A best friend comedy at it's finest, Playing House features real best friends Lennon Parham and Jessica St. Clair. This show's banter, ability to create laughs, and tell a good story make it one of the best comedies on television right now. I couldn't recommend this show more highly, please check it out.

by cotter12892

Feb 28, 2015 5:32 AM EST

Is there anything better than having a best friend? Someone who understands your mild breaks in sanity or can always bring up a great, and often embarrassing, story from when you were younger is great to have around.

That’s basically the magic behind the new comedy on USA, “Playing House.” The show was created and written by real life best friends Jessica St. Clair (“Bridesmaids”) and Lennon Parham (“Accidentally on Purpose”), who also star in the show. That gives the show a chemistry unlike any other.

“Playing House” starts off as the story of childhood best friends who grew up and separated because of work. Emma (St Clair) is a powerful businesswoman in China and Maggie (Parham) is an expecting mother who still lives with her cheating husband in her hometown in Connecticut. Emma returns from China, sees the disarray in Maggie’s life, and volunteers to stay and raise the baby with her – just like when they used to “play house” together as kids.

This quick-witted comedy is one of the first to be released on the USA network, which is partly why the show works so well – the network has no specific “comedy viewer” audience. There is now standard to hold the show up to (much like what happens now on ABC – all comedies are held up to the standard of “Modern Family”‘s humor and success).

The reason I champion this show so much is because it reminds me of the awkward, quirky, and real relationship I have with my best friend of almost 20 years. This show features specific moments and instances that are based off of the real friendship of the writers. But through their charm, specific detail, and overwhelming chemistry, the show is relatable to almost anyone who is lucky enough to have a best friend.

by Diana Køhler

Aug 26, 2016 12:54 PM EDT

The only show I can think of to successfully incorporate a baby into the story and still be funny. Waiting for an announcement on renewal has been pure pain both times, so I for one can't wait for the third season. I shouldn't like this but I really do. I laugh all through all the episodes because it is genuine, and I find genuine funny.

by LMKehe

Oct 19, 2016 6:10 PM EDT

Based on the leads’ real relationship, this comedy about making your own family and female friendship will make you laugh and maybe tear up a little. Lennon Parham and Jessica St. Clair speak with the speed of a Gilmore in quotable dialogue that crackles just left of center. It is silly and fun to watch… but be prepared to fall a little bit in love with Keegan-Michael Key.

by zparpa

Nov 15, 2014 9:56 AM EST

Good to watch to kill time, nothing special or overly exciting.

by JaneC.

Oct 06, 2014 7:02 PM EDT

interesting ....

by

Jun 22, 2017 2:08 PM EDT

This is one of those victims of Peak TV, an excellent show that has gotten lost in the noise of prestige dramas, bloody battle sequences, and gently funny "comedies." Playing House is the second sitcom created by and starring Lennon Parham and Jessica St. Clair (whose Best Friends Forever will forever be on my personal canceled-too-soon list). They play childhood friends who come to each other's aid and create their own quirky, loving family. The show is funny, emotional, and charming.

by salvomazzo1992

Sep 21, 2015 1:00 PM EDT

Good series, funny!!!

by howie4144

May 30, 2015 1:39 PM EDT

Average comedy, good for killing time. Nothing outstanding here, move along now

by Nyleve Abekem

Apr 07, 2015 11:55 PM EDT

I can't wait !!! I need me a best friend like this

by devil-babe

Mar 29, 2015 9:52 PM EDT

funny but alright

by Shakira1993

Jan 20, 2015 11:23 AM EST

Another great show Written by Lennon and Jessica finally a show that has gotten renewed and a great show at that

by maxamaris

Jan 16, 2015 9:21 PM EST

This show is a gem. Crazy funny—entire cast is hilarious—with lots of authentic emotion, too. First season is only 10 episodes, so you can marathon it in less than 4 hours. Perfect use of a lazy Sunday! You won't regret it and you'll be all set to blow up the second season's ratings.

by Vieffan

Nov 04, 2014 8:37 AM EST

So much fun to watch this show, can't wait for the next season!

by qtjessie

Oct 26, 2014 9:06 PM EDT

enjoyed this and hope anther season happens

by kolmteistjareede

Oct 26, 2014 4:59 PM EDT

Nothing special but still fun to watch.

by hannah.hoffmann

Oct 14, 2014 6:16 PM EDT

So funny!!! Laugh out loud funny all the time.

by Dory-Jean18

Oct 08, 2014 8:32 AM EDT

best show ever

by hannahhdalen

Oct 03, 2014 2:26 PM EDT

This reminds me of my best friend and how we are going to end up. It's hilarious!!

by flafi

Sep 02, 2014 4:31 PM EDT

Nothing special, but still worth a watch! It's quite entertaining.