Power

Add to List

Review

Power

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Saturdays, 9:00 PM EST on Starz
Tracked 24,458 Times
Concluded
6 Seasons, 63 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
The series follows James St. Patrick, nicknamed "Ghost", owner of a popular New York City nightclub. In addition, he is a major player in one of the city's biggest illegal drug networks. He struggles to balance these two lives, and the balance topples when he realizes he wants to leave the drug ring in order to support his legitimate business.

Show Reviews

by ovolicious

Jul 12, 2015 5:23 PM EDT

A show that makes you root for the bad guys, is a show that has been written well. This is just great - sexy, intelligent, cool. Think Breaking Bad with a hip-hop twist

by jazzygurl1000

Oct 12, 2014 1:03 PM EDT

This show honestly make me want to be a drug dealer and own a nightclub! (JK!) 50 Cent has something big on his hands! Omari, keep this show and leave Mary Jane. This role suits you better even though you end up cheating on your wife in both shows.

by me2011

Feb 01, 2020 11:31 PM EST

Surprisingly good show, I had no idea 50 Cent was a triple threat... 50 Cent is not a great actor by any means, but everyone else in the show holds their own. And to give 50 his credit, he's done an amazing job behind the scenes of this show, without him it wouldn't exist.

UPDATE 2020 - This show was consistently good with the lowest rated episode I have being 4 and the highest being a 5. The show wraps up nicely and doesn't leave you wondering what happened after investing years like so many other shows do, so I highly recommend it!

by JulipMarker

Aug 08, 2014 3:45 PM EDT

James St Patrick is a little bit black James Bond, little bit gangster hip--in short, perhaps he is the next Denzel, a versatile actor with style and who is a pleasure to watch as he plays to and away from the social and racial stereotypes of the 21st century. The overall plot line might sound so-so (street punk becomes drug kingpin leads a doublelife as a night club mogul trying to outwit an old white disco powerenterprise while unwittingly having an affair with a cop, his childhood love, who could could at any moment bring him down) but the writing within this overall plotline and the filming and acting is so strong that one cannot help but check in every week and then impatiently await the next episode to find out who is on top, how, why and what secrets might or might not get uncovered. Behind all of this are exciting issues of trust, greed and social image. Excellent scripting, but even better gestual and facial expressions that often say so much about the internal motives of each character. I think one might keep their eyes on this show--as perhaps these actors need to be nominated for an Emmy, especially Omari Hardwick and Lela Loren.

by ItzHavok

Oct 12, 2017 9:26 AM EDT

S01 - 5 stars
S02 - 5 Stars
S03 - 4.5 Stars
S04 - 4 Stars

What would you do? What would you risk? Who would you step on? Who would you kill? All this is the name of Power. This series is a gangster crime drama about a man who seeks ultimate power building a drug dynasty and legitimate nightclub. There's more to the high life other than money and power... there's blood, honor, respect, and ruthlessness; all things that Power delivers.

by npeart66

Dec 31, 2015 8:09 PM EST

It took me a few episodes to fully warm up to this show, but I'm unashamed to say I'm hooked now! I'd have to really sit and think of another show where the lead can really be considered a bad guy (you know, since drug lords are typically high on that list in TV lol), but you find him compelling and care about him regardless.

Power is dark and can get pretty violent, but I'm always on the edge of my seat. I think the writing is just so tight--it absolutely tops my list when it comes to shows where more is going on than meets the eye. In fact, the penultimate episode in the second season? I was literally on my feet, shocked at the end. I think I might have thrown something on the floor, I was so overwhelmed by what I was seeing lol. To be honest, I didn't think I could be more surprised until the promo for the finale episode started rolling. It was like: "Really!? You're going to try to top that next week!?" Power is absolutely among my top TV picks.

by travisoliver4

Jun 15, 2015 5:42 PM EDT

Great show. Season 2 awesome so far. Glad 3 is coming next year

by Jhill88

Jul 26, 2014 12:41 AM EDT

Power is like Breaking Bad with a twist to me. It's soooo unpredictable and crazy waiting for an episode is killer. This is one show where you route for the bad guys (Tommy is freaking crazy), sympathize with the half bad half good guy (poor James lol)and cuss out everyone who's in your way.

by Shivoncarla

Nov 06, 2018 11:29 AM EST

POWER - SEASON ONE

Power is fine but it doesn't live up to its title. It's not a powerful drama because viewers have largely seen all its tricks, plots and character relationships before.

by Reach4raj

Oct 16, 2015 10:16 AM EDT

Drugs and crime drama... i like it...

by bruhannuh

Apr 08, 2015 10:02 PM EDT

it's an ok show

by georgiaraepink

Sep 11, 2014 2:58 PM EDT

AMAZING

by misttherain

Apr 05, 2020 9:30 AM EDT

loved this series though the violence was pretty epic, nothing compared to the actual streets I'm guessing.. loved all the actors, story line.. I could be wrong but maybe there's a couple of spin offs happening?? Tommy's journey? Tariq??

by MaryJed

Apr 01, 2020 11:34 AM EDT

just damnnnn son

by Mike Kirkwood Fugere

Feb 10, 2020 2:15 PM EST

...I'm so glad that #powerneverends Happy that we have a spinoff 50 Cent has proven that he's got the goods to keep this awesome story going with Power: Book II

by dianna89

Dec 10, 2019 6:20 PM EST

I am so sad this show is coming to an END!!!!

by 9demons1

Jan 14, 2019 3:39 PM EST

power is a good movie in i like the movie

by aras1234

Jul 18, 2018 9:22 AM EDT

The main actor is good, not sure how he keeps it together. But OMG there are so many problems with this show:
50cents is a terrible actor and apparently they can not kill him off, although it would have made sense at least after season two. But no... and he does not know how to speak clearly, can you please try opening your mouth when you talk? And then there is the storyline, which is just plain...not very smart. The show had something at the beginning, now, I keep trying, I can´t even make it through one show.

by iguanasaber

May 28, 2018 3:19 PM EDT

Drug, guns, violence and sex. This show makes you want the bad guys to win and beat everyone else down no matter what. So much tension and it makes you want to do the same.

by Janette Johnston Savage

Feb 23, 2018 7:05 AM EST

I liked this but not as much as other Marvel shows