Roswell, New Mexico

Add to List

Review

Roswell, New Mexico

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Mondays, 9:00 PM EST on The CW
Tracked 3,550 Times
Hiatus
2 Seasons, 26 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
After reluctantly returning to her tourist-trap hometown of Roswell, New Mexico, the daughter of undocumented immigrants discovers a shocking truth about her teenage crush who is now a police officer: he’s an alien who has kept his unearthly abilities hidden his entire life. She protects his secret as the two reconnect and begin to investigate his origins, but when a violent attack and long-standing government cover-up point to a greater alien presence on Earth, the politics of fear and hatred threaten to expose him and destroy their deepening romance.

Show Reviews

by me2011

Jan 23, 2019 3:34 AM EST

My ideal of a remake means NOT hiring a new cast to act out the same scenes in the original. Did they just change a few words from the original script? I went into this wanting to like it because I enjoyed the original. The original wasn't "must see TV" but it was decent TV for its time, so I actually expected and hoped this might be better...you know,bigger budget, better script. But nope.

To make matters worse, this show is blatantly pandering with "token" characters. Yes, being a token is offensive, so why is this show filled with what seems like a South Park parody of Token Black, the only black male child on South Park? And yes, I am a visible minority and I prefer my shows to look like the world, but not in a demeaning, pandering, formulaic, token way. Latina, check! Gay male, check! Racism, check! Oops, they forgot a disabled person, a black person, an Asian person and Indian person and a Native American/Indigenous person.

What in God's name were the show runners thinking? I'm a woman of colour and fairly liberal in my politics. But I don't want to be pandered to. I want TV to be inclusive and reflect people of all shades of every ethnicity and sexuality. That should be easy enough to do while making it seem natural. I can list tons of shows that do that well, for example, Greys Anatomy, Scandal, True Blood, New Girl, Brooklyn Nine Nine. These shows don't make their diverse and LGBTQ characters seem like "tokens" which is offensive because nobody wants to be a token hire. There's something to be said about subtlety and making things seem as natural as it does when you step outside of your front door and see the diversity in the world. Shit, even racist Rosanne came back last year with two black characters and a transgender character and made it seem more natural than this.

The show runners need to do better. Give us the world we live in without it seeming like you ran down a diversity checklist. And while some viewers like me watch sci-fi to be teleported/escape the craziness in the news, if you plan to bring in elements from the crazy world, please don't make it central to the entire series rather than the odd episode.

I'll watch episode 2 for a giggle to see how long I can make it through the episode. I'm taking bets on how long until this gets cancelled. I bet it gets cancelled in the first season before the episodes that have been made get to air.

by LorisaGashi

Feb 19, 2019 2:49 PM EST

This is awful.. too much like the original which was AMAZING!! This is unoriginal.. any aspects that are original are forced and make no distraction to the fact that the show is trying to replicate the original series with worse acting and chemistry to the original series. The original Roswell show was much more engaging and the chemistry between the characters was so intense especially that of Max and Liz. This Liz I really dislike and cannot connect with.. none of the characters make me feel anything.

by Spencer Ames

Jan 18, 2019 12:06 PM EST

iM SORRY but this show really needs to step up its game. instead of copy catting the original Series. almost step by step. especially the diner scene. yea the mixed in a few new things. but just watching it as long as i did this series just feels like the old one with a new cast. (https://www.sidereel.com/tv-shows/roswell)

by Haylie Ross

Mar 01, 2019 9:30 PM EST

No, just nope. Bored from the beginning, and it did not stop there. New actors, ideas and names. But no new plot line. Why am I not surprised. This whole show feels like a parody. It feels so fake. Every five minutes it feels like I am ticking a mental check-box for something that is going on is today's society: LGBTQ, Check. Political statements, Check. Latino, Check. Racism, Check. Feminism, also Check.

It is like the producers created this show based on what they think society wants thrown at them. And yes, some are even eating this up like candy. So many shows are becoming similar. Plot line and characters have similarities. Nothing new. Nothing refreshing or surprising.

Lately, too many shows are also being cancelled. Never making it past 1 or 2 seasons. Maybe producers should look at the reasons why their viewer numbers are falling. If it is not broken, why try to fix it?

by flyfisher110

Feb 27, 2019 12:27 PM EST

I was hoping this was going to be a good syfy but looks like it's another soap for the young. Can't say anything bad about the show just not my kind of show. The cast and acting is good, so if the show gets a good or bad rating is going to be up to what the person who is rating it was hoping for. Watched 2 episodes will give it 2 more, if it stays the same soap style show will stop watching. Stopped watching.

by ktroxdesigns

Feb 18, 2019 11:38 PM EST

I am still giving the show a chance, but I have not been able to really get into it yet. I was a big fan of the original show and got very excited when they said they were going to redo it. I am not relating to the characters as much and I don’t feel as much of a connection with the characters. I don’t feel that the acting is very good. I also don’t like that they’re bringing in sub stories like the politics of illegals and things like that. Granted if I had not Watched the original show maybe I would like this one more. So far I’m just having a hard time getting into it. Still giving it a chance though. So my review on it may change over time.

by steelsheen

Feb 04, 2019 7:24 AM EST

Woof, this thing. i vaguely remember the original series being somewhat entertaining which the reboot most assuredly is not.

by dinaofdoom

Jan 31, 2019 1:21 AM EST

Pale imitation of the original, with nothing fresh or interesting added.

by JaySpectre

Oct 03, 2019 10:58 AM EDT

OMG. You know, I am usually a guy who takes his time when writing a review...but when it comes to a show "stealing" from or failing to "remake" a show from the 1990s- well, then I just HAVE to jump in. This is by far one of the worst remakes ever. It tries to create characters likeable to those gullible young fools these days ( no disrespect intended, but come on, be honest)which have no idea about the original version back in 1999 and pretty much only care about their social media life.
SPOILER ALERT: That scene in the first episode, where Liz catches a bullet in her chest.. In the ORIGINAL VERSION you really feel for the gal..and the dude - Max- that tries to save Liz - All he has is just his glowing hand..but that is enough .. because the situation in itself has enough emotional tension already due to the situation they are in - All because the writers and the director did a good job..- OH, but all you can do here in THIS VERSION is think: "Are you people serious?" - bullets suddenly fly and LIZ gets hit and then Max tries to heal Liz- and suddenly all kinds of lights explode and other dramatic badly shown FX bullshit goes on ...and don't get me started on the acting in that moment...I mean before it was ok..but suddenly when the drama was supposed to really get started..oh man, any dumbass from the street would have been able to create a bit more emotion than this crap - And I was thinking: how on earth did this pass any reviews before released to the tv channels or streaming companies??? So, I thought..ok Meik..bnow be realistic here...I went to my pc in my other room...clicked on the file with the good old 1990s stuff and watched a few episodes from season 1 of Roswell. Oh man, damn. This so-called "new" version just so sucks compared to the original. The producers here just try to (but fail to) capture some stuff from the original and hope to somehow "impress" the new young gullible folk. All I can do is hope that the idiots of today don't turn out to be the dumbasses of tomorrow. I hope they care to check good old google so they can find that great original version from 1999 see how badly they have been played by this horrible copy.

by KerstinRoush

Mar 13, 2019 3:26 PM EDT

I have been holding off on writing this review. But after watching 7 episodes I can say it is not as good as it was made out to be. It is okay but that's about it. It had kind of a good start but it got pretty boring after that and it has been dragging.
The story is kind of lame and the acting isn't all that great either. At this point, I am not sure I am going to finish watching this show because it feels like a chore - and that's not the point.

by jesalyn88

Apr 09, 2020 11:23 PM EDT

If I could give this show 12 stars, I would. This is one of my favorite shows the CW has produced. I've never been a fan of aliens (more of a vampire girl), but this show has broadened my horizons. It's definitely worth giving a go.

by mirthofearth

Dec 07, 2019 10:25 AM EST

I gave this a shot and I couldn't get into it

by LizardQueen77

Nov 25, 2019 6:28 AM EST

Upon announcement of this reboot and the potential differences it will have from the original, I dived into the first episode with an open mind. However, I still couldn't help but feel conflicted with the major changes. This series brings its own uniqueness. Liz and Max have obvious chemistry. I love that Liz is a strong female character, she's intelligent and she stands up for herself. I also love that Max isn't inherently good. You see sides of him that make him kind of scary but not in a creepy way. It lends another dimension to the whole alien story line In terms of the story line, kudos to the writers for setting the stage after the college years. Exciting things can actually occur after the age of 18, and I'm thrilled that the CW might actually understand that there are people over 30 who enjoy the sci-fi, fantasy and fiction genre. There is nothing wrong with teen drama, but we have lots of it already. The show deals with aliens but still manages to stay grounded in something real. I think that's because of the way the show takes time showcasing each family and their bonds. Each family whether is be the Ortechos, the Evans family, the Valenti's, or Maria and her mom has love between them that binds them to each other and the town. I watch shows become I want to escape reality and enjoy an alternate world. I don't want to watch a show for a hour that's going to ram political issues and ideology down my throat. If you absolutely have to have politics in the show, don't just have one side of the political spectrum. Try to be more be balanced and show all sides. I personally think they should have introduced a new character who was of a different sexual orientation and put that person into the inner circle of the main characters, instead of altering an already established character. Beautiful visuals, the potential for some great story lines, romantic chemistry, and some well made casting choices are all in it's favor.

by Xoldius

Apr 24, 2019 9:25 PM EDT

As a big fan of the original who was greatly disappointed it only lasted 3 seasons, I was skeptical about whether or not I'd enjoy the remake based on the changes. I was going to give it a try anyway because it's Roswell of course :D ...I am glad I did, this is definitely an awesome show to watch and highly recommend for both original Roswell fans and new. Don't let any deviation from the original show put you off, this is Roswell Evolved ;) and looking forward to season 2 - yes, it has been renewed :D

by Graziella Formosa

Apr 10, 2019 3:39 PM EDT

Story revolves around a trio of aliens who try to lead a normal human life until something obviously happens. I like it although apparently (judging by other reviews) it is a downgraded copy of the original series. Stats out slow but the story gets more engaging with each episode and you'll see some familiar CW faces along the way.

by

Mar 19, 2019 10:10 PM EDT

It's watchable, but clearly they are stretching the story out. In the first episode, the alien man touched her, and she could feel half of what he felt for her. In the third episode, she is surprised when he tells her he has always loved her. Everything that happened made that obvious in episode one. In episode four, she will probably say, "Wow, he likes me?"

by dreytko

Jan 23, 2019 9:23 PM EST

I loved the pilot. Yes they used Token actors, trying to much to fill all the check box. It's to hard a try in my opinion. But otherwise, the show is nice. The actors are great, the choice of age is more adapted for a more compelling love story.

I want to see where it is going.

by Onesexytan

Jan 21, 2019 8:58 AM EST

So far it was pretty decent. I love that they aged up the characters. I loved the original but I don't know if I would like the show if it was centered around them being in high school. It was good for a pilot and the directions they are going in seems to be a good one. Can't wait to see how the show unfolds.