The Alienist

Add to List

Review

The Alienist

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Sundays, 9:00 PM EST on TNT
Tracked 4,154 Times
Current
2 Seasons, 18 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Based on the Anthony Award-winning New York Times bestseller by Caleb Carr, The Alienist is a fast-paced and atmospheric psychological thriller set in the fascinating and gritty world of Gilded Age New York City. After a series of haunting and gruesome murders, psychiatrist Dr. Laszlo Kreizler, newspaper reporter John Moore and police commissioner Theodore Roosevelt come together employing emerging disciplines of psychology and early crime investigation techniques to track down one of New York City’s first serial killers.

Show Reviews

by gusters

Feb 27, 2018 6:59 PM EST

I was really excited for this show, but extremely disappointed by it. It had such potential but was wasted with not so great acting and weak plot lines. I'll be surprised if this makes it to a second season.

by Princesse_Sierra

Feb 28, 2020 2:56 PM EST

The gore was maybe a little too gratuitous, but still an interesting, dark show. Special props for Dakota Fanning's performance, and the portrayal of women entering the police force for the first time.

by ItzHavok

Apr 29, 2018 7:47 PM EDT

The Alienist is a period crime drama that follows a case somewhat like Jack the Ripper. The murderers victims on the other hand are young men that dress up as woman and who "work" for a living. The term alienist refers to experts who studied people suffering from mental illness were they thought to be alienated from their own true natures. The series follows a group led by psychologist (alienist) and a forensic caricaturist. that try and crack the case. The series is directed well, the time period is well recorded and the writing isn't terrible. The show is also quite slow and some characters were not cast very well... still watchable but not thrilling enough for my taste. A decent subject to be covered, just slightly didn't hit the mark with this one, watch at your own risk.

by ChicEtHautaine

Apr 12, 2018 6:42 PM EDT

it's not CSI, 4 crimes solves in one episode
each episode follow a group of people from different background trying to investigate an awful case taking place in the dark & gloomy side of NY
it seems slow but it follows the narration, research & exploration at this period
each character brings their knowledge to solve a serie of crimes
the settings & costumes are pretty

by KerstinRoush

Mar 16, 2018 1:08 PM EDT

After watching 7 episodes I can say the following:
When I read about this new show and what it was about, it sounded intriguing. Set in a completely different time than the other crime shows I usually watch, it gives a different view on criminal profiling. The story itself is good and well thought out. And the actors, for the most part, are doing pretty good.
But as much as the story is really interesting, it keeps dragging in between. And I can't put my finger on the why. I keep wanting to move the story along, to make it go faster somehow. I don't know if this has something to do with the fast-paced shows and episodes I am used to or if it is the story itself. I am going to keep watching, because I like the story (I really want to find out who is the killer!) and I like the actors - especially Daniel Brühl (whom I have seen in several of his native German productions).
What I don't know is how they are going to make a second season out of this story. Maybe a new crime spree?

by steelsheen

Feb 13, 2018 4:49 AM EST

On one hand the acting, the look of the show and commitment to the darker aspect of the books is fantastic. On the other hand the absolute disregard of the Stevie character is unconscionable. Also the inability of the writers to figure out how they want to tell the story makes it seem very tentative at times.

by TheRandomme12

Feb 10, 2018 12:51 PM EST

With every episode this show leaves me wanting more and more. I am officially obsessed!!!

by kaidenlaw

Jan 22, 2018 8:49 PM EST

You had me at Teddy Roosevelt. Bully!

by limaya

Apr 06, 2020 6:42 PM EDT

I was excited for this show but really disapointed by the storyline.
The actors are good but the story doesn't take off and gets too complicated

by Jnss14

Mar 10, 2020 1:54 PM EDT

This was in my opinion a wonderful show that had great potential but was sadly ended before it could show it.

by misttherain

Apr 20, 2019 9:44 PM EDT

This series follows a serial murder's case in the late 1890's... the time period shows the corruption, bias and greed of the politicians, police departments being compromised and the upper class who consider themselves above the law.. with all these obstacles will the true murderer be found? I'll never tell ... I will say that this was a fun if rather graphic at time series to watch..

by Kelly Munn Bly

Mar 07, 2019 3:07 PM EST

An award winning period drama about an investigation into a serial killer. The setting and the characters will transport you back in time. But the case itself feels more like that could have taken place today. Interesting to watch.

by

Jun 18, 2018 10:37 PM EDT

About "the gruesome murders of boy prostitutes."

In addition it's boring and disgusting.

by RiannaBlok

Jun 05, 2018 8:01 PM EDT

*season 1*
Great crime show. Every episode enticed me to watch another. Amazing performances by all of the actors.
I especially loved the setting. The outfits are amazing & it adds this extra layer of complexity since we all know that lawlessness was easier in the olden days ;)

by rubin59

May 16, 2018 11:52 PM EDT

This show is different from anything else on TV. I LOVE THIS SHOW!! Didn't miss a show. Can't wait for it to come back on.

by vronmo

May 10, 2018 3:21 PM EDT

Worth a watch! Started watching this with some friends and we all thought it was good.
Not a top show for me since it's a bit slow, but took myself in liking the few jumpscares that was there,

by Infowun

Apr 22, 2018 10:42 AM EDT

This is a brilliant piece of work. A gripping story that hooks you right from the start and superbly written, equally superbly acted. Definitely worth your time even though you cannot fail to link the story's similarities with the Jack the Ripper events of Victorian London, which have clearly inspired the work.

by njzazzy41387

Mar 27, 2018 8:27 PM EDT

This won't be cracking my top shows, but it is still very much worth watching. I really enjoy the way the show incorporates in great detail the socio-economic, and current events of the time. It's gritty and dark. The characters are strong, the acting is average. That doesn't take away from the intriguing story unfolding. I hope this gets a second season. I would love to see where they take the story and how they involve more historical characters and events.

by Debra McClure

Mar 26, 2018 12:49 PM EDT

I have enjoyed this adaptation of the thriller by Caleb Carr. I plan to read the second book in the series.

by JJane007

Mar 25, 2018 9:24 PM EDT

A different take on your usual cop shop. Show how corrupt and sexist the police force used to be. I will continue watching it and hope the bad guys get their comeuppance.