The Night Manager

Add to List

Review

The Night Manager

Avg Rating (0)
Your Rating
Tuesdays, 10:00 PM EST on AMC
Tracked 8,705 Times
Hiatus
1 Seasons, 6 Episodes
60 Minutes
Buy or StreamAmazonAmazon UK
Adapted from John le Carré's [author of Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy] novel of the same name, the miniseries follows former British soldier Jonathan Pine (Hiddleston), who is recruited by an intelligence operative named Burr (Colman) to navigate the shadowy recesses of Whitehall and Washington, where an unholy alliance operates between the intelligence community and the secret arms trade. To infiltrate the inner circle of lethal arms dealer Richard Onslow Roper (Laurie), which includes girlfriend Jed (Debicki) and an associate named Corcoran (Hollander), Pine must himself become a criminal.

Show Reviews

by ZRostom

Feb 24, 2016 5:19 AM EST

The first episode was pure excellence. The acting, Story-line and Photography where Superb, My only Issue as an Egyptian is that the Army and Police Uniforms where terribly wrong.

by Maria Mateescu

Feb 26, 2016 6:20 PM EST

After the first episode I expect this series to be a roaring success. It has an absolutely stellar cast, the plot has me hooked and did I mention the absolutely fantastic actors? I would attribute the low overall rating to the fact that it could have been more fast paced, but as I see it more as a psychological thriller, personally I believe it is just the right speed for what it is trying to achieve. And the story itself is amazing, but no spoilers.

by ItzHavok

Jun 03, 2016 12:46 PM EDT

The Night Manager is a marvelous tale of honor, duty and courage. This British mini-series demonstrates political corruption and lack of dignity among the elite. The journey, the pursuit of justice at any cost ...This show is worth watching.

by Diana Køhler

Jun 19, 2016 11:58 AM EDT

Outstanding performance from everyone involved. I loved the pace of the show and the subtle hints in every actor's face as we progressed in the story. It was taken beyond the source material where it needed to and the writers ran with what was dealt (like a pregnant Olivia Colman). Everyone should watch this for it is truly TV perfection.

by scotwot

Apr 20, 2016 11:25 AM EDT

Just finished watching it, it's soooo good. British tv is seeing a little bit of a resurgence, thank goodness. This is one of the really good ones and Hiddleston is exceptionally good. No wonder they're talking him up to be Bond!

by Jessica Flynn

Mar 19, 2016 9:02 AM EDT

Everything about this is brilliant, from the casting to the story line. It's Bondesque and I would recommend this to anyone! Tom Hiddleston is absolutely fantastic.

by Mistwolf614

Jul 13, 2016 1:08 AM EDT

Incredible. Just incredible.

by CelyneR

May 06, 2016 1:07 PM EDT

it's like a never ending James Bond movie!

by Ellaeulalia

May 05, 2016 5:19 PM EDT

Its James Bond just as a series. Love it ! Good cast ! And sadly it shows the reality money rules the world :(

by scorbin53

May 01, 2016 11:45 PM EDT

So far I love it. Watched just the two episodes. Can't wait for episode three. Perfectly casted.
Cindy from Blaine, MN

by Lolli123456

Dec 09, 2017 3:37 PM EST

The screenplay for this mini series was well written in general, being from the La Carre book it has a lot of depth and nuance. Elizabeth Debicki is stunning throughout and the scenery is at turns as beautiful as her and then the complete opposite highlighting the underbelly of the middle east arms trade and its horrid casualties. The Mallorca home is amazing. The series is a bit overly nuanced though and it is certainly not a James Bond type of spy movie, and is at times very boring and could have easily been reduced to a 3 or 4 episode action thriller instead of what it is which is a slow burn overly-English passive observer gentleman type of reluctant hero avenging a lost love that he really didn't even know that well in the first place. There are several aspects especially in the last few episodes that appear contrived simply to move the plot along, and the series suffers from what a lot of book-to-movies suffer from... too many pages of description and very little action. In the end everything wraps up but its rather anticlimactic... like unsatisfying sex... sure, you had sex, but that is about all you can say. If it wasn't for Elizabeth being painfully beautiful to watch and the overly-english guy being occassionally elegant and sauve, I probably would have given it 3 stars. Its well done, but essentially flawed. The 'House' guy plays a near perfect bad guy, but again in the last couple episodes it becomes a cat and mouse game that simply would not happen in real life. Why not simply get rid of the new guy that is very likely the spy. Its like the boring version of a James Bond villian not killing James right away and therefore allowing him to escape and foil his dasterdly plans. I do hope they make another season, but I hope they step up the action and make a more modern version of the rather old style of writting. Tinker Tailor is simply a very old novel and its boring in comparison to modern screenwritting timing and action. I'm sure there are people who will say they love this series, but after watching it I can see why I didn't even here about its release... its good but not great... and it should have been great.

by ani_duvs

Mar 26, 2018 7:31 PM EDT

Everytime I see Hugh I think of House, and the same happens with Tom and Loki. This series erases the past characters I've associated them with. It's a story about love, trust, betrayal and spies! Nothing like a good ol'spy series. This time I never expected it to turn out so smoothly, it doesn't feel rushed, the season ends with everything falling into place. You hate Birch for being capable of such things and feel for Roper, just a tiny bit, and scream joyously when everything crumbles for him. But I have some questions, what happens to the Daniel, the kid? What happens to Carol and her failing to tell on Jed? Is she still with her kids? I need answers!!

by Rashid Alzayani

Feb 04, 2017 12:24 PM EST

really good

by me2011

May 31, 2016 10:37 PM EDT

This was really good! Great cast, wonderful production and interesting plot. It's a shame that this is only a mini-series and not a full series as it would be great if they could have written it as a continuing plot.

by Jell0zz

May 18, 2016 9:58 PM EDT

One of the best series released in 2015/16. The beginning is a bit slow but the story develops quickly and has tons of depth.
After conquering the European audiences it's now here in the US and i'm enjoying every episode.

The Night Manager dives into the world of underground arms trade and shady government/arms manufacturer interactions are included which make for a gem of a tv-show.

by lucyloo21

May 10, 2016 4:55 AM EDT

Absolutely loved this. Tom Hiddleston & Hugh Laurie play their respective roles perfectly. The filming locations are beautiful, you feel really immersed in Roper's world. The story draws you in and keeps you hooked. Brilliant, entertaining and at times terrifying drama.

by eriduserpent

Apr 20, 2016 7:36 AM EDT

SOOOOOOOO Good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Shame it is a one off story.

by Amy Petrou

Mar 27, 2016 2:14 PM EDT

I decided to watch this mostly because of Hugh Laurie. But he's not the only great thing in this series. Both the male leading roles are brilliant, the story is great, it's fast, it has an excellent cast all around, can't find a flaw actually. Highly recommended!

by RebeccaSK

Feb 23, 2016 10:05 AM EST

The intro music etc reminds me of Sherlock Holmes or 007, so was slightly surprised to discover that "Night Manager" refers to the night manager of a hotel - a night manager with a military background.

Do see this series if you like spies and heros in a war setting.

by Princesse_Sierra

Feb 28, 2020 3:50 PM EST

I'm overdue for a rewatch. Hiddleston and Laurie give captivating performances. Unfortunately, with them dominating screen time and script, there isn't much space for anybody else, not even any female characters. The the female roles that do stand out are abused damsels in distress, so that's a little disappointing.